Engagement ring.

A couple of friends on Facebook have asked for some close ups of my ring, so here she is— Optimal Sparkle Pink Shine! (Yes, my ring has a name that sounds like a crossover between Transformers and My Little Pony, because friendship is magic and that’s how autobots roll.*)

She's a 14k white gold band, with an oval pink (natural, though since I got her the store have moved on to lab-created pink sapphires as they are "shinier") sapphire at the centre, flanked by two round cut diamonds on either side of the (heart shaped) setting, with a further three diamonds set in the channel. There's also two small diamonds on the inside that separate the inscription. And I don't think I've worn anything so sparkly in all my life.

Part of the inscription, and the two inner stones. You can also get a good look at the heart setting which I love. The band is nowhere near as shiny as that now thanks to general wear and the soft nature of white gold, though I'll hopefully get her redipped when I get her resized and bring back some of the shine, or better yet, dipped in a platinum alloy coating which lasts 18 months, as opposed to rhodium which is 6-12 months and doesn't scratch.

The inscription reads, "past", "present", and "future" complimenting the setting of the ring which is typically favoured for eternity ring styles.

I really love the hue of the natural sapphire stone at the centre. I'm a bit of a girly girl when it comes to things that are pink and red, so a pink engagement ring was perfect.

And there she was today all shiny on my finger. Currently held in place with the help of a plastic wrap from Claire's Accessories as the ring is two sizes too big since I got it, and metal inserts from the jeweller don't keep her on. So there's a good tip ladies, for both UK and US, Claire's Accessories £3 and they don't scratch your ring like the metal ones do!

 And that’s Optimal Sparkle Pink Shine folks!

*Yes I’m sober.**
**Yes that may be what is wrong with me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wedding Stoof and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Engagement ring.

  1. Jared the American says:

    I would like to think this blog would be the appropriate forum to discuss the name to be assigned to Mr. Newly’s ring as well.

    I’m going to go ahead and assume that his hardware will also have pink stones and a heart so, with that in consideration, my vote is for “Unobtainium Fuchsia Glitter Glow.”

    Would love to hear your thoughts.

    P.S. You misspelled “center” and “favor”. Trollolol.

    • I am heartily in favour of this plan. Though it will now be obligatory for you to wear pink to the wedding for making fun of the correct spelling of words. Not any of the other grooms men, just you. xxx

Leave a Reply

